Programming BlinkyTape from Android?

edited December 2013 in BlinkyTape Fun
Has anybody yet created a way to program BlinkyTape from an Android device using e.g. ArduinoDroid? It seems like it would be very useful to be able to pull out one's phone and load a sketch from it, or program on a keyboarded tablet without the need to fetch a bigger laptop!

If not, can somebody point me to the specs and learning resources I'd need to start cooking something of the sort up? Context: I am a professional software dev, however my usual beat is miles from the metal. I really don't have any idea how one writes an Arduino-oid 'programmer', or what BlinkyTape's programming protocol is.

Comments

• It's possible! The biggest challenge is that many Android devices don't have a USB port that can be a host device (USB OTG), so you will either need to find one that does, or have the Android device send the data back to a computer (which might defeat the point a bit).

PatternPaint is written in C++ using the QT library, and it should be possible to compile it for Android (though I haven't tried yet, none of my phones have USB OTG).

The protocol to send realtime data to the BlinkyTape is hopefully simple, and the Processing example has an explanation of how it works:
    http://blinkinlabs.com/blinkytape/docs/processing/

To upload animations, the BlinkyTape actually does a little trick to combine the animation with a pre-compiled Arduino sketch, and uploads the whole thing using the bootloader as if it were a new sketch. I had a hard time finding documentation on this (it should be the avr109 protocol), and ended up reverse engineering it by looking through the bootloader source code.