Multiple BlinkyTapes Connected together

Looking at the blinkytape, it looks like I could hook up a second strip to the first by soldering them along the 3 connectors. Would this work and still be programmable by PatternPaint? I want to make slightly longer strips to attach to a set of metal fans to create LED Flow Fans.

Comments

• Yes! It should work fine, as long as the extra strips are WS2812b or NeoPixel type. You can adjust the strip length in PatternPaint by going to Tools->Scene Configuration and putting the number of pixels in the 'Height' field. The controller supports up to 500 pixels, however for best results we recommend sticking to ~200.

• Cool. I was actually just gonna connect a second blinkytape. I figure I just remove the controller from the second one.

• hi, i'm new to this and have a question similar to what miloni asked. i have a blinkytape that i want to add a 4 meter neopixel strip to. it is 60 leds per meter. if i solder to blinky tape it would give me 300 leds, 100 more than you recommended. there are extra 2 wires for power on neopixel strip. can i connect a power supply there ? will it overload the blinky tape ? i calculated max power needed for 4m at 5v would be 72 watts, 14.4 amps. could i get away with a 10 amp power source, or less ? is this doable ?
    thanks,
    stuart

• Hi Stuart- Just noticed your messages here.

The maximum length depends how you are planning to use it- will it be playing back patterns standalone, or do you want to stream them from a PC? The ~200 recommendation is mostly because the BlinkyTape memory is a little small- it won't fit many frames of pattern data if you intend to play data back from it. If you're going to hook it up to a computer or Raspberry Pi, then 300 should be ok.