Programming BlinkyTiles

This discussion was created from comments split from: BlinkyTile Programming.

Comments

• Hello Blinky makers. I am new to the discussion forum, so please forgive me if I violate any arcane protocols of maker etiquette.

I am planning to get some BlinkyTiles soon and will probably start by building a dodecahedron. I have downloaded and installed PatternPaint, since it looks like that will be easier to get started with than Processing (or Arduino).

(BTW - attempting to install the AppImage for PatternPaint 2.3 on my Toshiba Satellite running Ubuntu 14.04 gave me a core dump, but 2.3 installed and seems to run OK.)

I'm curious about a couple of things:

1. How do you know what the pattern you draw is going to look like on the BlinkyTile before you upload it? The Output Preview is a little confusing - it looks like there's a column of 55 pixels that can be individually colored. Each pentagonal BlinkyTile has 5 LEDS to a side for a total of 25 LEDs. How do those match up with the output of the preview screen?

2. Also, How do you use PatternPaint to individually control BlinkyTiles, so they display differen patterns at different times.

I know I should probably just build it, plug it in and the answer will be intuitively obvious, but I thought I would ask and see if I can experiment a little with the software first.

Thanks,

-Jack

1. You can plug the structure in and see the results in real time. It's unfortunately a little confusing for the BlinkyTile because the program doesn't have a way to tell how you assembled the tiles.
    2. Each row corresponds to the LED on a single BlinkyTile. The BlinkyTiles only have one LED each, located in the center of the tile.
  • Thanks, Matt.

Actually, I think I've started to get the PatternPaint thing figured out.

I've also learned a lot by reading the documentation for Daniel Garcia's (https://github.com/focalintent) FastLED library.