EightByEight - error uploading demo sketch from Arduino IDE: espcomm_open failed

Hi,
I just got by EightByEight this weekend and I'm eager to start playing. It seems like a really rad little piece of hardware!

I was able to get PatternPaint working with it, but when I tried to upload one of the example sketches, I get the errors:
warning: espcomm_sync failed error: espcomm_open failed error: espcomm_upload_mem failed

I followed the instructions in the Getting Started Guide to load the ESP8266 Board info.

I am pretty new to Arduino, so I could be making some newbie mistake that's just not documented in the 8x8 docs.

Here is the full set of steps I've gone through so far:
Basic Connection

• downloaded and installed arduino IDE for Mac v1.8.4
  • followed instructions to Install the ESP8266 Board
  • configured the Tools > Board configs according to the screencap in the Getting Started guide (also set Tools > Port to /dev/cu.usbmodem1421
  • at this point I could open the Serial Port monitor and it shows debug info when you hold the button down (mac & IP address, accelerometer info)

Pattern Paint

• downloaded the app from http://blinkinlabs.com/blinkytape/patternpaint/
  • quit out of the arduino app and restarted the pattern paint app to get the "save to blinky" button to be enabled
  • I also had to do "tools > restore firmware" to get the 8x8 to respond to pattern paint
  • after that it worked to preview the patterns on the device, and when i "saved" the patterns to the blinky and unplugged it, they were added to the end of the pre-loaded demos.

Next I tried loading an Arduino sketch, starting with the BlinkyDemo from the EightByEight repo
but I get an error whenever I try to upload a sketch. I tried out some of the example arduino sketches too, and they're giving the same error.

Here's the full output when I try to upload a sketch: